Sometimes files are unexpectedly deleted from the SpiderOak Hive folder or from a sync. This can happen if SpiderOak One or Groups believes that the file has been deleted or moved on another computer involved in the sync more recently than you modified the file.
First of all, not to worry: your file is not lost. All files deleted during sync, whether correctly or accidentally, are sent to the deleted items bin which is in the Manage tab on the application on your computer. Files sent here are never automatically purged, so if they were deleted by the backup application, they will be saved here until you manually purge them. You can restore any incorrectly deleted file from here, and if you modify the timestamp before putting them in the sync folder, they should not be deleted again. Each device has its own deleted items bin, and files in a sync are or were on multiple computers, so check them all.
A common reason for this problem is running old versions of One or Groups, and upgrading to our latest version solves it. For more information on how to upgrade, see Resolve Sync Problems By Updating Your Devices.
This can also happen to a file in a sync when one of the involved computers has a mis-set clock. If a computer's clock is incorrect, that computer will give your file an incorrect timestamp, which the backup application can misinterpret as an old version of a file that has since been deleted. Please check the clock of the computers involved in the sync. Correct the clocks as needed, and enable your operating system's feature to periodically correct your clocks automatically so you don't have to fiddle with this again. Do this before continuing, or the problem will recur.
Now, how to fix the immediate problem. Download the file from the deleted items bin, but do not restore it to its original location in the sync or it will just get deleted again. Instead, download it to a location on your computer that is not backed up by the application. There change the file's timestamp. To do so, you can make a trivial edit to the file, or open a command console or terminal and give the appropriate command:
copy /b "path\to\the\file" +,,
Mac or Linux:
Now move the file back to its desired place in the sync or Hive. With the recent timestamp, the application should not delete it again.
Sometimes this problem happens when reorganizing files or folders in Hive or a sync. Moving or renaming files in Hive or sync can sometimes confuse the synchronization algorithm and cause it to believe that the file has been deleted, upon which the application syncs the deletion to your other computers. To avoid this problem, we recommend that before reorganizing the contents of Hive or a sync, you first press the Pause Uploads button in the application's Dashboard. Move things around as you wish. Once things are where and how you want them, press the Resume Uploads button.