It is possible to disable the SpiderOak Hive folder, and even remove it entirely if you like. To do so, in the desktop application, open Preferences - General and enable the option "Disable the SpiderOak Hive folder on this device". Press Save. Shut down SpiderOak ONE. Don't just minimize the application, shut it down completely by clicking or right clicking on the icon in the notification area, then selecting Quit. Then reopen it. The Hive folder on this device will no longer synchronize with your other devices.
We have a video demonstrating the process:
That's all you have to do. Some users also like to do one or more of the following:
De-select Hive so that its contents are no longer backed up. Now that Hive has been disabled, it can be de-selected in the Backup tab.
Delete the Hive folder from the computer, using the operating system's file manager (Windows' file explorer, Mac Finder, etc.).
Remove prior historical versions of the Hive folder and its contents from SpiderOak's online storage, using the Manage tab.
This procedure is per device, not per account, so you may wish to repeat this process on other devices.